

# **Special Licenses and Permits**

### **One-Time-Only Events**

The Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (WSLCB) issues three licenses and permits for onetime-only events:



**Special Occasion License:** Allows a bona fide nonprofit organization to sell liquor at a specified date, time and place. Special Occasion License applications are <u>available online</u>. Examples include a fundraising dinner, gala event, auction, or wine tasting.

- **Banquet Permit:** Allows the service and consumption of liquor at a private, invitation-only banquet or gathering held in a public place or business. Banquet Permits are <u>available online</u>. Examples include weddings, company banquets, retirement parties, or club, organization or church events.
- **Raffle Permit:** Allows a bona fide nonprofit organization to raffle liquor to its members at a specified date and place. <u>Applications are available online</u> or by calling (360) 664-1600.



#### **Farmers Markets**

The WSLCB also certifies farmers markets who wish to allow Washington wineries and breweries to sell product for off-premises consumption, and endorses qualified in-state wineries and breweries who wish to sell product at a farmers market.

- Farmers market certification: Allows a qualified farmers market to have Washington wineries and breweries sell products for off-premises consumption. Applications are available online:
  - English
  - Korean
  - <u>Spanish</u>
- Farmers market endorsement: Allows a qualified in-state winery or brewery to sell wine or beer at a certified farmers market. Applications are available online:



- English
- <u>Korean</u><u>Spanish</u>

# Local Wine Association License

A retail license for nonprofit societies or organizations formed for the purpose of encouraging consumer education of and promoting the economic development for a designated area of the Washington state wine industry. <u>Applications are available online</u>.

- Licensees may purchase or receive donations of wine from licensed domestic wineries and certificate of approval holders to use for promotional or marketing purposes.
- Events and marketing programs run by the licensee may be held on the premise of a domestic winery or domestic winery additional location.
  - The wine industry association licensee and domestic winery licensee must separately account for their own sales.
  - Domestic winery licensees are exempt from <u>RCW 66.28.305</u> when making retail sales at these events, allowing them make or receive money advances.
- The LCB must be notified at least 45 days prior to an event or marketing program.
- Licensees may host up to 12 events annually.
- Licensees may also apply for special occasions licenses.

If you currently hold a wine association license and wish to notify to the LCB of an upcoming event, please complete the <u>Event Notification Form</u> and email it to <u>specialoccasions@lcb.wa.gov</u>

# **Special Business Permits**

There are several permits available for businesses that don't fit into a traditional liquor license category.

# Following State Liquor Laws

Special license or permit holders must follow state liquor and tobacco laws and regulations during their event. A WSLCB enforcement officer may visit a licensed event to check compliance with state liquor and tobacco laws and regulations. The license or permit must be prominently displayed at the event.

Please remember:

•

No sales or service of alcohol to persons under 21 years of age and intoxicated persons

- Intoxicated persons and those under 21 may not drink or possess alcohol
- No disorderly conduct at the event
- No sales, service or consumption between 2 a.m. and 6 a.m.



Copyright © 2023 Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board