

Bill Title: Concerning the provision of personal services and promotional items by cannabis producers and processors.

Bill Number: SB 6341

Effective Date: 6/28/2016

Amends: Adds a new section to RCW 69.50

Summary:

Allows producers and/or processors to provide retailers with branded promotional items of nominal value, allows the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board to investigate complaints or issues around the use and influence of promotional items, allows the production of materials to promote tourism, and allows producers and processors to provide personal services at a licensed retailer's location to inform, educate or enhance customers' knowledge or experience with the producer or processors products.

The law allows a producer or processor to provide retailers with branded promotional items which are of nominal value. "Nominal value" is defined as an item with a value of \$30 or less singly or in the aggregate. The items must be used by the retailer in a manner consistent with its license and may only contain imprinted advertising matter of the producer or processor. Producers and processors may not provide the item directly or indirectly to retail customers and the items must not be targeted to or appeal principally to youth.

- A producer or processor is not obligated to provide promotional items, and a retailer may not require the items to be provided as a condition for selling cannabis.
- Any person may file a complaint with the Liquor and Cannabis Board (LCB) if they believe the promotional items result in undue influence or create an adverse impact on public health and safety. If the LCB agrees with complainant it may issue an administrative violation notice to the producer, processor, or retailer.
- Producers or processors may:
 - List information on their web sites related to retailers who sell or promote their products. Retailers may list reciprocal information on their websites.
 - Prepare materials promoting tourism in Washington State, individually or jointly, which contain information regarding retail licensees, producers, processors, and their products.
 - Provide personal services to a retailer when conducted at a licensed premises, and are intended to inform, educate, or enhance customers' knowledge or experience of the manufacturer's products.

Rulemaking Timeline:

The WSLCB is considering rule changes to clarify the provisions of the bill relating to what is considered "educational" among other clarifying provisions relating to providing personal services. The proposed schedule for rulemaking is as follows (subject to change).

- CR-101 to initiate permanent rulemaking filed on April 20, 2016
- CR-102 with proposed rule changes expected July 13, 2016
- Public Hearing expected August 24, 2016
- Request to adopt rules and filed CR-103 expected September 7, 2016

• Rules will be effective 31 days after filing CR-103

Contact Information:

For specific questions, please contact Customer Service at 360-664-1600 or <u>lcb.wa.gov.</u>